Quick Links

Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Main Navigation



Home > breadcrumbs: Diekman >


Ajax Loading Image


Skip image

Story image 1_0

Principal's Message

Mrs. April Davis


Home of the Bulldogs

August 2019

Dear New and Returning Parents/Guardians,

It is with great pleasure to welcome you to the 2019-2020 school year!  I hope that the summer months have provided you with rest, relaxation and an opportunity to rejuvenate. I am looking forward to assisting you and your child(ren) in becoming an active part of our school programs, activities, and PTA.  The theme of the District this year is “Accountability!” It is imperative that we focus on the three P’s; Purpose, Practice and Performance!  Achievement and Growth are goals we will focus on to improve student learning.  The entire Diekman staff is ready to take on the challenge.  We pledge to do our very best and will go above and beyond to assure all our students are successful.  Our goal is to provide an environment that is structured and disciplined; while at the same time, challenging, motivating, nurturing and enriching.  We continue to analyze our data to drive instruction that will meet the needs of our students.  We are continuing our efforts to align our curriculum with the Illinois State Board of Education: Common Core State Standards.  We will provide rigorous instruction that will prepare our students for the 21st Century.  Our mission is to produce students that are college and career ready and able to compete in this global society.  

We are pleased to inform you that Dolton School District 149 will continue the implementation of the Community Eligibility Provision (CEP), an option available to schools participating in the National School Lunch and School Breakfast programs, for 2019-2020 school year. Schools that participate in CEP are able to provide healthy breakfasts and lunches each day at no charge for all students enrolled in that CEP school.

All students are required to wear navy pants/skirts/jumpers with a light blue top.  Students in Pre-Kindergarten and Kindergarten are the only students allowed to wear shorts or skorts.  All students must have tops with collars.  Shoes must be dark in color.  We look forward to seeing all students in uniform on the first full day of school, Monday, August 19th from 9:00 a.m. until 3:30 p.m.   Please take a moment to visit our district website at www.schooldistrict149.org  to locate important information this school year.

Please join us for the annual District-Wide Back to School Carnival on Saturday, August 24th, from 11 a.m. - 3:00 p.m. at Caroline Sibley School located at 1550 Sibley Boulevard in Calumet City.  

We look forward to meeting with you during the school year.  When you see us in the hallways or at school activities, do not hesitate to come up and introduce yourself.

Yours in Service,
Mrs. April C. Davis                                                                 





Back To Top